Annual Juried Show


Accepting Entries
March 21-23, 10:00am – 4pm

Preview Perusal Party
Open to Award Donors & Arts Center members
March 23, 4:30pm – 7:30pm

Juried Results Posted Online
April 3
No results will be given over the phone. Results will NOT be mailed. 

Exhibit Dates
April 19 – May 31

Opening Reception & Awards Ceremony
April 19, 6:30pm -8:30pm
Awards at 7:00pm

Art on the Town Viewing
April 22 – May 10

Not-Accepted Entries Pickup
April 19, 10:00am – 8:00pm
April 23, 10:00am – 6:00pm

Accepted Entries Pickup
June 3-5, 10:00am – 5:00pm

• Minimum 18 years old
• Only original works not previously shown at the AAC
• Must have been created within the past two years
• Any media welcome – including painting, pastel, drawing, sculpture, pottery, basketry, graphic, wood, mixed media, photography, metalwork, and jewelry, etc.
• All work to be hung must be appropriately and securely wired for hanging.
• No clip mounting and no sawtooth hangers
• If subject to damage, must be under plexiglass or glass (gallery-wrapped canvas acceptable)
• All 3-D work must sit solidly on a flat surface or properly mounted for hanging
• No size restrictions, but MUST be transportable and able to be hung in a conventionally sized gallery

Entry Fee
$40 for one OR two entries. Artist may enter more than two pieces for an additional $40 per two pieces.

The Annual Juried Show historically presents several thousands of dollars in awards to artists. These awards are made possible by the generosity of Anderson Arts Center supporters who want to reward artists for their talent. We are so thankful for our community donors who value the arts.

Merit Awards
All merit awards are bestowed by the juror in recognition of excellence in the visual arts.These monetary awards go directly to the artist showing that our community considers their work valuable and worthy of recognition. Donors do not receive anything in return.

Purchase Awards
Purchase awards are given to artists whose artwork is chosen to be purchased by the donor of the award. Regardless of the price of your work, you may select to offer your piece for a purchase award of $500 or $1000. The full amount of the award will be given to the artist. There is no commission given to the Arts Center for a Purchase award sale. You must mark the appropriate box on the entry card to be considered for a purchase award.

Artwork Sales
All entries are available for sale through the gallery unless otherwise noted.
• If a work is not for sale, NFS (Not For Sale) must be noted on your entry card.
• A 35% commission will be charged by the Anderson Arts Center.
• No PORs (Price on Request) will be accepted.
• All work for sale must have the price listed and will be sold as exhibited.

The Anderson Arts Center assumes responsibility for insuring and caring for the works of art selected for exhibition while they are in our possession. However, the Anderson Arts Center will not assume costs of shipping artwork or insurance while in transit to or from the Anderson Arts Center. The Anderson Arts Center reserves the right to refuse any entry and to withdraw any work from the exhibition at its discretion. The Anderson Arts Center reserves the right to photograph and reproduce any entry submitted for educational or publicity purposes.

Join in the Anderson Arts Center’s Annual Juried Show by submitting entries for SculpTOUR, a sculpture competition held through a partnership with the City of Anderson.

This competition allows for up to four outdoor sculptures to be juried into a year-long outdoor exhibition with cash prizes of $2000 for each selected piece.

This year’s competition is particularly exciting because the City of Anderson is hosting more than 200 international executives and community leaders for a week-long conference in mid-April 2024. The INMC (International Network of Michelin Cities) Conference will bring an abundance of additional tourists to the area to see your work on display.

Entry Deadline: March 1

Art on the Town is an extended exhibit of the Juried Show. Works are eligible for Art on the Town if indicated on the entry form. Artwork will be on view in various restaurants, retail shops, and other business locations from April 22 – May10. You must check the Art on the Town box on the entry card to be eligible.


Roxanna Albury began her art education career at the State Department of Education in Florida in 1965 and then taught studio and art history as an assistant professor at Brevard Junior College in Melbourne, Florida. Moving with her family to SC in 1971, she spent 30 years there, first in arts administration, and then teaching in elementary, junior high, high school, and higher education. With a Bachelor of Arts degree in design and a Master of Arts in art education from Florida State University, she later graduated with a Doctorate of Education in art education from the University of Georgia in 1991.  She served as Supervisor of Art for Anderson School District Five for thirteen years. While there, Roxanna was president of the board that founded Anderson County Arts Council in 1972. She taught art at Pendleton High School for three years, and in 1987, she was selected as a Fulbright Exchange Teacher to teach at James Allen’s Girls School in London. Upon returning to the States, she became Director of the Summer Program for the SC Governor’s School for the Arts, then moved to Lander University in the fall of 1990.  At Lander, Roxanna helped design the MAT program and was instrumental in its implementation.  She was awarded Professor of the Year and Carnegie Professor in 1996 and twice nominated for South Carolina Professor of the Year.  Roxanna has twice served as president of the South Carolina Art Education Association, as president of the South Carolina Alliance for Arts Education, and three years as director of the SC Curriculum Leadership Institute in the Arts.  Now retired to the mountains of NC, Roxanna has spent much of her time traveling with her husband, Bill Chaiken, and enjoying the visits of her children and grandchildren. 



Art matters. Make a difference today!

110 Federal Street
Anderson, SC 29625



At the Anderson Arts Center, we offer vital arts resources for all in Anderson County. Help us keep the arts accessible to our community and beyond!